Timothy Brechon of Paris and John LaForge of Delton were recently elected by Great Lakes Energy members in their district to three-year terms on the electric cooperative’s board of directors. Incumbent Robert Kran of Free Soil was also re-elected to the board.

Brechon and LaForge are the first directors to be elected to these districts. Election districts were created in 2014 when Great Lakes Energy members voted to switch from at-large to district elections.

The three winners each defeated challengers in their district to earn a position on the board. Brechon is a retired electrical engineer and retired math teacher in District 8 (Clare, Mecosta, Newaygo, Osceola counties). LaForge is retired and worked for General Motors for 35 years. He is from District 9 (Allegan, Barry, Kent, Montcalm, Ottawa counties). Kran is a farmer from District 6 (Lake and Mason counties).

Great Lakes Energy members in districts 6, 8 and 9 received their mail-in ballot in the July/August issue of Michigan Country Lines. Voters had to return their ballots to a private CPA firm by Aug. 18 and winners were announced Aug. 24 at the cooperative’s annual business meeting in Boyne City.

Great Lakes Energy Election Results Summary
District 6:
Robert Kran, Free Soil – Winner 601
Ronald Bacon, Custer 133
William Gibbons, Baldwin 120

District 8:
Timothy Brechon, Paris – Winner 357
Howard Bowersox, Stanwood 181

District 9:
John LaForge, Delton – Winner 210
Benjamin Ferrell, Pierson 174