Approximately 500 people attended Presque Isle Electric & Gas Co-op’s 77th Annual Membership Meeting at Posen High School on October 24. Board Chairman John Brown stated “the annual meeting is a perfect example of our cooperative principles in action. Cooperatives are democratic organizations controlled by their members. Members have equal voting rights –one member, one vote – and are organized in a democratic manner.”

Each year elections are held for three (3) positions on the Board of Directors. This year, one additional seat became vacant on the board in the Cheboygan District after the sudden passing of Director Allen Barr. After all votes were counted, the successful candidates winning election to three-year terms (2014-2017) are: John F. Brown (incumbent, Cheboygan District), David W. Smith (Incumbent, Montmorency District), Allan Berg (incumbent, Presque Isle District). The vacancy in the Cheboygan District was won by Sandy Borowicz for a one year term (2014-15).

Immediately following the meeting, the board of directors held their election of officers and the results are as follows: Chairman – John Brown; Vice-Chairman – Allan Berg; Secretary – David Smith; and Treasurer – Daryl Peterson.

PIE&G employees Heather Homan and Taed Price performed a vocal tribute accompanied by a slide show presentation, in remembrance of Director Allen Barr, who served on PIE&G’s board from 1985 to 2014.