Karen Alholm, new director for district 2

Karen Alholm, New Director for District 2

Nearly 750 people were at the U.P. State Fairgrounds in Escanaba June 13 for Alger-Delta Cooperative’s 77th annual meeting. About 50 people attended in 2014.

The co-op’s members elected Karen Alholm to represent District 2 (Harvey/Deerton). Alholm is a retired attorney and a volunteer mediator who also sits on the Marquette County Board of Commissioners and the board for Adult Learning Systems.

Following the annual meeting, the board elected its officers, with Ron Oberg as the new president, and Mike Nason (Big Bay) as vice president, and Sue Alexander (Stonington) as secretary-treasurer.

The co-op decided to go back to a family-gathering picnic-style meeting with food, games, pony rides and raffle prizes this year. “We are encouraging our members to come out and learn more about what is going on with their electric company and get more engaged and involved,” said Tom Harrell, Alger Delta CEO.